Improving Federal Building Security Act of 2024 (S 3613) – The Federal Protective Service (FPS) contracts security guards to control access to government facilities and screen visitors to detect prohibited items, such as pepper spray and batons. Earlier this year, FPS investigators conducted a covert test at certain federal buildings in which the guards failed to detect prohibited items about 50 percent of the time. In response, Congress passed this bill requiring Facility Security Committees to respond to security recommendations issued by the FPS. It also mandates that the Homeland Security Department submit an unredacted report to Congress regarding FPS surveillance technology recommendations as well as summarize the FPS recommendations that buildings accepted or rejected. However, no additional funding for security is appropriated by the bill, which will sunset five years following enactment. The act was introduced on Jan. 18, 2024, by Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI). It passed in the Senate on March 23, the House on Dec. 10, and was signed into law on Dec. 17.
Servicemember Quality of Life Improvement and National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2025 (HR 5009) – This year’s version of the annual funding bill features a 14.5 percent increase in pay for junior enlisted servicemembers, as well as a 4.5 percent pay raise for all other personnel. The legislation also provides cost-of-living allowances per location, improved housing/barracks repair programs, more access to medical and mental health services, and increased employment support for military spouses. The legislation was introduced by Rep. David Joyce (R-OH) on July 27, 2023. This is a bipartisan bill that has passed in both the Senate and the House with various changes. It is currently awaiting signature by the White House for enactment.
Coastal Habitat Conservation Act of 2023 (HR 2950) – Introduced by Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA) on April 7, 2023, this bill passed the House on Sept. 24, 2024, the Senate on Nov. 21, and was signed into law on Dec. 11. The legislation empowers the Coastal Program of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service to increase efforts to assess, protect, restore and enhance key coastal environments that provide fish and wildlife habitats for certain federal trust species.
Thomas R. Carper Water Resources Development Act of 2024 (S 4367) – This legislation was introduced by Sen. Thomas Carper (D-DE) on May 20, 2024. It passed in the Senate on Aug. 1 and in the House (with changes) on Dec. 10; the final bill is expected to be approved and signed into law by the end of the congressional session. This bipartisan bill is designed to improve the nation’s water resources infrastructure, including ports and harbors, inland waterway navigation, and flood and storm protection; it also strengthens our resilience during natural disasters. The legislation also institutes reforms at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in order to streamline processes and deploy projects faster.
SHIELD Against CCP Act (HR 9668) – Introduced on Sept. 18, 2024, by Rep. Dale Strong (R-AL), this bill would establish a task force working with the Department of Homeland Security. The group’s sole focus would be on countering terrorism, cybersecurity, and border/port security related to threats posed by the Chinese Communist Party. The legislation is in response to recent CCP activities such as stealing intellectual property and technology, threats to economic supply chain security and critical infrastructure, and surveillance activities targeting U.S. defense sites and even American citizens. The bipartisan bill passed in the House on Dec. 10 and is currently in the Senate.
Increasing Baseline Updates Act (HR 9716) – In the first quarter of each year, the Congressional Budget Office provides Congress with an annual baseline 10-year projection of the budget and economy based on the fiscal impact of legislative proposals. Updates are released in Q2 and Q3 to reflect newly enacted laws and economic conditions. This bill would mandate that the executive branch provide critical data to the CBO by February 1 of each year to produce a more accurate annual budget baseline. The bill passed in the House on Dec. 11 and currently lies with the Senate. It was introduced by Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT) on Sept. 20, 2024.
National Security
January 1, 2025 · Blog, Congress at Work
⏱ 4 min read
Improving Federal Building Security Act of 2024 (S 3613) – The Federal Protective Service (FPS) contracts security guards to control access to government facilities and screen visitors to detect prohibited items, such as pepper spray and batons. Earlier this year, FPS investigators conducted a covert test at certain federal buildings in which the guards failed to detect prohibited items about 50 percent of the time. In response, Congress passed this bill requiring Facility Security Committees to respond to security recommendations issued by the FPS. It also mandates that the Homeland Security Department submit an unredacted report to Congress regarding FPS surveillance technology recommendations as well as summarize the FPS recommendations that buildings accepted or rejected. However, no additional funding for security is appropriated by the bill, which will sunset five years following enactment. The act was introduced on Jan. 18, 2024, by Sen. Gary Peters (D-MI). It passed in the Senate on March 23, the House on Dec. 10, and was signed into law on Dec. 17.
Servicemember Quality of Life Improvement and National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2025 (HR 5009) – This year’s version of the annual funding bill features a 14.5 percent increase in pay for junior enlisted servicemembers, as well as a 4.5 percent pay raise for all other personnel. The legislation also provides cost-of-living allowances per location, improved housing/barracks repair programs, more access to medical and mental health services, and increased employment support for military spouses. The legislation was introduced by Rep. David Joyce (R-OH) on July 27, 2023. This is a bipartisan bill that has passed in both the Senate and the House with various changes. It is currently awaiting signature by the White House for enactment.
Coastal Habitat Conservation Act of 2023 (HR 2950) – Introduced by Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA) on April 7, 2023, this bill passed the House on Sept. 24, 2024, the Senate on Nov. 21, and was signed into law on Dec. 11. The legislation empowers the Coastal Program of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service to increase efforts to assess, protect, restore and enhance key coastal environments that provide fish and wildlife habitats for certain federal trust species.
Thomas R. Carper Water Resources Development Act of 2024 (S 4367) – This legislation was introduced by Sen. Thomas Carper (D-DE) on May 20, 2024. It passed in the Senate on Aug. 1 and in the House (with changes) on Dec. 10; the final bill is expected to be approved and signed into law by the end of the congressional session. This bipartisan bill is designed to improve the nation’s water resources infrastructure, including ports and harbors, inland waterway navigation, and flood and storm protection; it also strengthens our resilience during natural disasters. The legislation also institutes reforms at the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers in order to streamline processes and deploy projects faster.
SHIELD Against CCP Act (HR 9668) – Introduced on Sept. 18, 2024, by Rep. Dale Strong (R-AL), this bill would establish a task force working with the Department of Homeland Security. The group’s sole focus would be on countering terrorism, cybersecurity, and border/port security related to threats posed by the Chinese Communist Party. The legislation is in response to recent CCP activities such as stealing intellectual property and technology, threats to economic supply chain security and critical infrastructure, and surveillance activities targeting U.S. defense sites and even American citizens. The bipartisan bill passed in the House on Dec. 10 and is currently in the Senate.
Increasing Baseline Updates Act (HR 9716) – In the first quarter of each year, the Congressional Budget Office provides Congress with an annual baseline 10-year projection of the budget and economy based on the fiscal impact of legislative proposals. Updates are released in Q2 and Q3 to reflect newly enacted laws and economic conditions. This bill would mandate that the executive branch provide critical data to the CBO by February 1 of each year to produce a more accurate annual budget baseline. The bill passed in the House on Dec. 11 and currently lies with the Senate. It was introduced by Rep. Blake Moore (R-UT) on Sept. 20, 2024.
Disclaimer
These articles are intended to provide general resources for the tax and accounting needs of small businesses and individuals. Service2Client LLC is the author, but is not engaged in rendering specific legal, accounting, financial or professional advice. Service2Client LLC makes no representation that the recommendations of Service2Client LLC will achieve any result. The NSAD has not reviewed any of the Service2Client LLC content. Readers are encouraged to contact a professional regarding the topics in these articles. The images linked to these articles are protected by copyright and should not be copied for any reason.
A Dec. 3 proposal from FASB’s Accounting Standards Update (ASU) might provide some flexibility for private businesses and select nonprofits. “Financial Instruments – Credit Losses (Topic 326)” looks at measuring credit losses for contract assets and accounts receivable for these entities.
When it comes to determining projected credit losses for current accounts receivables and current contract assets, businesses face immense resource needs and reporting requirements, including for assets acquired prior to the publication dates of financial statements.
With public comments being received through Jan. 17, 2025, industry professionals have reported that when it comes to gauging projected credit losses for current contract assets and current accounts receivable, there’s a massive undertaking and validation necessary for assets collected prior to financial statement issuance dates. Industry professionals argue that being able to factor in collections post-balance sheet date in calculating expected credit losses would reduce the complexity for preparers, whereas, for third parties, including investors and others who utilize financial statements, it would provide them with valuable data.
FASB proposed an amendment to ASC 326 207 to allow private companies and certain not-for-profit entities to employ a more flexible and efficient way to better gauge their projected credit losses for current contract assets and accounts receivable that originate from transaction accounts under ASC 606.
Working with the Private Company Council (PCC) to look at stakeholders’ concerns that estimating projected credit losses can be exorbitant and complicated for financial proceedings, FASB is soliciting comments on whether or not to expand the scope of entities included for ASU standards, along with different asset classes.
Current Criteria
According to ASC 326-20, when expected credit losses are estimated by entities, an entity must evaluate their ability to garner cash flows via the lens of contemporary economic circumstances, rational and documented projections, and past losses. Past losses may need to be fine-tuned to approximate project credit losses if past circumstances change from present conditions or from well-ground estimates and documented projections. Another consideration when formulating credit loss projections is that entities aren’t required to factor in collections obtained post-balance sheet date.
Proposed Additions
When it comes to the proposed additions, FASB speaks to a practical expedient and an accounting policy election. The practical expedient concerns an entity’s well-grounded, data-dependent projections. If an entity chooses the practical expedient, it would be able to factor in collection activity beyond the balance sheet date when projecting expected credit losses.
Practical Expedient
To formulate projections that are rational and based on verified accounting details, this so-called practical expedient can be chosen by the entity that assumes its present balance sheet conditions will last for the entire projection time frame. Choosing a practical expedient also implies that an entity’s accounting policy will factor in collection activity past its balance sheet date when gauging expected credit losses. Specifically, under 326-20-30-10C for the practical expedient, during the projection time frame, an entity will maintain the exact circumstances of the balance sheet throughout the rational and data-based projection period.
If a business, for example, has determined a particular client is facing monetary challenges, it would account for its client’s financial issues through projections of estimated expected credit losses for said client, even though it has not impacted the business’ historical loss experience or if the business is up to date as of the balance sheet date.
Accounting Policy Election
Per 326-20-30-10E, when a practical expedient from 326-20-30-10C through 30-10D is chosen by entities for their accounting policy election when projecting credit losses, it signals that the entity factors in collection activity after the balance sheet date, but prior to the date of financial statement issuance. If an entity uses one or both of the practical expedient and/or accounting policy elections, disclosure is mandatory.
Conclusion
Lastly, such advice would be administered on a forward-looking basis, and both of these entities (PCC and FASB) will make the ultimate findings and guidelines of the implementation dates once industry professionals’ comments are considered. However, entities will likely be able to utilize these guidelines sooner.
For eligible companies, these standards could provide greater flexibility and the ability to divert resources to more productive allocations.
How Reporting Might be Less Complex in 2025
January 1, 2025 · Accounting News, Blog
⏱ 4 min read
A Dec. 3 proposal from FASB’s Accounting Standards Update (ASU) might provide some flexibility for private businesses and select nonprofits. “Financial Instruments – Credit Losses (Topic 326)” looks at measuring credit losses for contract assets and accounts receivable for these entities.
When it comes to determining projected credit losses for current accounts receivables and current contract assets, businesses face immense resource needs and reporting requirements, including for assets acquired prior to the publication dates of financial statements.
With public comments being received through Jan. 17, 2025, industry professionals have reported that when it comes to gauging projected credit losses for current contract assets and current accounts receivable, there’s a massive undertaking and validation necessary for assets collected prior to financial statement issuance dates. Industry professionals argue that being able to factor in collections post-balance sheet date in calculating expected credit losses would reduce the complexity for preparers, whereas, for third parties, including investors and others who utilize financial statements, it would provide them with valuable data.
FASB proposed an amendment to ASC 326 207 to allow private companies and certain not-for-profit entities to employ a more flexible and efficient way to better gauge their projected credit losses for current contract assets and accounts receivable that originate from transaction accounts under ASC 606.
Working with the Private Company Council (PCC) to look at stakeholders’ concerns that estimating projected credit losses can be exorbitant and complicated for financial proceedings, FASB is soliciting comments on whether or not to expand the scope of entities included for ASU standards, along with different asset classes.
Current Criteria
According to ASC 326-20, when expected credit losses are estimated by entities, an entity must evaluate their ability to garner cash flows via the lens of contemporary economic circumstances, rational and documented projections, and past losses. Past losses may need to be fine-tuned to approximate project credit losses if past circumstances change from present conditions or from well-ground estimates and documented projections. Another consideration when formulating credit loss projections is that entities aren’t required to factor in collections obtained post-balance sheet date.
Proposed Additions
When it comes to the proposed additions, FASB speaks to a practical expedient and an accounting policy election. The practical expedient concerns an entity’s well-grounded, data-dependent projections. If an entity chooses the practical expedient, it would be able to factor in collection activity beyond the balance sheet date when projecting expected credit losses.
Practical Expedient
To formulate projections that are rational and based on verified accounting details, this so-called practical expedient can be chosen by the entity that assumes its present balance sheet conditions will last for the entire projection time frame. Choosing a practical expedient also implies that an entity’s accounting policy will factor in collection activity past its balance sheet date when gauging expected credit losses. Specifically, under 326-20-30-10C for the practical expedient, during the projection time frame, an entity will maintain the exact circumstances of the balance sheet throughout the rational and data-based projection period.
If a business, for example, has determined a particular client is facing monetary challenges, it would account for its client’s financial issues through projections of estimated expected credit losses for said client, even though it has not impacted the business’ historical loss experience or if the business is up to date as of the balance sheet date.
Accounting Policy Election
Per 326-20-30-10E, when a practical expedient from 326-20-30-10C through 30-10D is chosen by entities for their accounting policy election when projecting credit losses, it signals that the entity factors in collection activity after the balance sheet date, but prior to the date of financial statement issuance. If an entity uses one or both of the practical expedient and/or accounting policy elections, disclosure is mandatory.
Conclusion
Lastly, such advice would be administered on a forward-looking basis, and both of these entities (PCC and FASB) will make the ultimate findings and guidelines of the implementation dates once industry professionals’ comments are considered. However, entities will likely be able to utilize these guidelines sooner.
For eligible companies, these standards could provide greater flexibility and the ability to divert resources to more productive allocations.
Disclaimer
These articles are intended to provide general resources for the tax and accounting needs of small businesses and individuals. Service2Client LLC is the author, but is not engaged in rendering specific legal, accounting, financial or professional advice. Service2Client LLC makes no representation that the recommendations of Service2Client LLC will achieve any result. The NSAD has not reviewed any of the Service2Client LLC content. Readers are encouraged to contact a professional regarding the topics in these articles. The images linked to these articles are protected by copyright and should not be copied for any reason.
The CAC Payback Period looks at how a business needs to recover its investment in attracting new customers. It is especially crucial for companies that are in industries with large marketing and sales costs. It’s an important metric because it helps businesses measure their performance in a number of ways.
First, it shows how well a business is managing its budget. Based on the resulting figure of the CAC Payback Period, the shorter the time required to break even on its customer acquisition costs, the more efficient a company is with its sales and marketing expenses. If, however, the result is high, this signals the company is doing something wrong and needs to analyze its current approach.
Running this analysis can also identify a company’s financial perils. The more prolonged the CAC Payback Period, the more likely a company might be facing cash flow concerns. Whether it is caused by overall economic conditions or industry or company-specific challenges, this is another reason for a company to run the numbers to see how it can mitigate or turn around the costs associated with acquiring customers.
The calculation also can help a business determine if it is able to expand to new products and markets and scale up existing product lines. The shorter the time needed to acquire new customers, the more likely a business can grow.
When investors and lenders analyze a company’s financials, including this metric, the more efficient a company is, and the more likely it will attract investors or have lenders offer favorable financing terms.
How to Calculate the CAC Payback Period
This scenario looks at $300,000 in customer acquisition costs, such as marketing, sales, etc., for a three-month period. The company obtained 1,000 new customers and is expected to gain $200,000 in new monthly recurring revenue (MRR), with an estimated gross margin of 60 percent.
First Step: Calculate the CAC by dividing Sales and Marketing Expenses by the new customers (1,000). It’s expressed as follows:
CAC = Sales and Marketing Expenses/Number of New Customers
CAC = $300,000/1,000 = $300 per customer
Second Step: This is to determine the monthly recurring revenue (MRR) per customer. The new MRR amount is divided by the number of newly acquired customers. It’s calculated as follows:
MRR = $200,000/1,000 = $200 per customer
Third Step: Determine the gross margin or how much remains from revenue after subtracting direct costs. In this case, we’ll use 60 percent.
Fourth (and Final) Step: This step determines how many months it will take to recoup the customer acquisition costs from the profits generated by the newly acquired customer. It’s calculated as follows:
CAC Payback Period = $300/($200 x 0.60) = 2.5
Based on the resulting 2.5 figure, it takes, on average, 2.5 months of profit from the newly acquired customers to pay for the customer’s acquisition cost.
Understanding CAC Payback Period Efficiency
If it’s less than 12 months, it’s favorable. This implies a business has an efficient approach to profitability and growth. However, it’s not a hard and fast rule because the repayment time frame can fluctuate based on the economy and the business operations. If a company is a low-margin business or industry (e-commerce, groceries, etc.), a far tighter payback time frame would be necessary to be viable.
There are many factors that can affect this company-specific measurement, such as the industry or sector, current economic conditions, or the business’ approach to gaining new customers. If a company has a shorter CAC Payback Period in an industry that has a generally accepted longer one, this can imply that the company is more efficient in its operations.
This metric is another tool in a financial analyst’s toolbox that can measure and identify efficiency (or lack thereof) and help put businesses back on track for greater financial health.
Calculating the CAC Payback Period
January 1, 2025 · Blog, General Business News
⏱ 4 min read
The CAC Payback Period looks at how a business needs to recover its investment in attracting new customers. It is especially crucial for companies that are in industries with large marketing and sales costs. It’s an important metric because it helps businesses measure their performance in a number of ways.
First, it shows how well a business is managing its budget. Based on the resulting figure of the CAC Payback Period, the shorter the time required to break even on its customer acquisition costs, the more efficient a company is with its sales and marketing expenses. If, however, the result is high, this signals the company is doing something wrong and needs to analyze its current approach.
Running this analysis can also identify a company’s financial perils. The more prolonged the CAC Payback Period, the more likely a company might be facing cash flow concerns. Whether it is caused by overall economic conditions or industry or company-specific challenges, this is another reason for a company to run the numbers to see how it can mitigate or turn around the costs associated with acquiring customers.
The calculation also can help a business determine if it is able to expand to new products and markets and scale up existing product lines. The shorter the time needed to acquire new customers, the more likely a business can grow.
When investors and lenders analyze a company’s financials, including this metric, the more efficient a company is, and the more likely it will attract investors or have lenders offer favorable financing terms.
How to Calculate the CAC Payback Period
This scenario looks at $300,000 in customer acquisition costs, such as marketing, sales, etc., for a three-month period. The company obtained 1,000 new customers and is expected to gain $200,000 in new monthly recurring revenue (MRR), with an estimated gross margin of 60 percent.
First Step: Calculate the CAC by dividing Sales and Marketing Expenses by the new customers (1,000). It’s expressed as follows:
CAC = Sales and Marketing Expenses/Number of New Customers
CAC = $300,000/1,000 = $300 per customer
Second Step: This is to determine the monthly recurring revenue (MRR) per customer. The new MRR amount is divided by the number of newly acquired customers. It’s calculated as follows:
MRR = $200,000/1,000 = $200 per customer
Third Step: Determine the gross margin or how much remains from revenue after subtracting direct costs. In this case, we’ll use 60 percent.
Fourth (and Final) Step: This step determines how many months it will take to recoup the customer acquisition costs from the profits generated by the newly acquired customer. It’s calculated as follows:
CAC Payback Period = $300/($200 x 0.60) = 2.5
Based on the resulting 2.5 figure, it takes, on average, 2.5 months of profit from the newly acquired customers to pay for the customer’s acquisition cost.
Understanding CAC Payback Period Efficiency
If it’s less than 12 months, it’s favorable. This implies a business has an efficient approach to profitability and growth. However, it’s not a hard and fast rule because the repayment time frame can fluctuate based on the economy and the business operations. If a company is a low-margin business or industry (e-commerce, groceries, etc.), a far tighter payback time frame would be necessary to be viable.
There are many factors that can affect this company-specific measurement, such as the industry or sector, current economic conditions, or the business’ approach to gaining new customers. If a company has a shorter CAC Payback Period in an industry that has a generally accepted longer one, this can imply that the company is more efficient in its operations.
This metric is another tool in a financial analyst’s toolbox that can measure and identify efficiency (or lack thereof) and help put businesses back on track for greater financial health.
Disclaimer
These articles are intended to provide general resources for the tax and accounting needs of small businesses and individuals. Service2Client LLC is the author, but is not engaged in rendering specific legal, accounting, financial or professional advice. Service2Client LLC makes no representation that the recommendations of Service2Client LLC will achieve any result. The NSAD has not reviewed any of the Service2Client LLC content. Readers are encouraged to contact a professional regarding the topics in these articles. The images linked to these articles are protected by copyright and should not be copied for any reason.
The Social Security Fairness Act of 2023, formally known as H.R. 82, aimed at ending two provisions in the Social Security system that affect public sector employees who have earned pensions from jobs not covered by Social Security. These provisions are the Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset, both of which reduce or eliminate Social Security benefits for workers who have worked in both public-sector and private-sector jobs.
The Problem: WEP and GPO
The Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset were originally designed to prevent public sector workers from receiving larger Social Security benefits than they would have been entitled to had they worked in jobs covered by Social Security for their entire careers. However, critics argue that these provisions disproportionately harm workers who have spent a significant portion of their careers in public service, such as teachers, police officers, firefighters, and other state and local government employees.
Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP):
The WEP reduces the Social Security benefits of individuals who have worked in both the private sector (where they paid into Social Security) and the public sector (where they often did not contribute to Social Security). Typically, Social Security benefits are based on an individual’s 35 highest-earning years. The WEP alters the formula used to calculate benefits for individuals with fewer than 30 years of substantial earnings in Social Security-covered employment, leading to a lower Social Security benefit than they would otherwise be entitled to. For many, this results in a significant reduction in the monthly payment they would have received under the standard Social Security formula.
Government Pension Offset (GPO):
The GPO affects spouses and widows/widowers of Social Security beneficiaries. Under this provision, individuals who receive a government pension from work that was not covered by Social Security (such as state or local government employees) see a reduction in their spousal or survivor benefits from Social Security. The offset is calculated by reducing the spousal or survivor benefit by an amount equal to two-thirds of the government pension. This can leave many public employees with little to no spousal or survivor benefits despite their spouse having paid into Social Security.
What H.R. 82 Seeks to Accomplish
By eliminating both the WEP and GPO, the bill aims to ensure that public sector workers who have earned Social Security benefits through their work in the private sector are not penalized by reductions in those benefits. It also seeks to provide fairer treatment for the spouses and survivors of government employees who may otherwise see their Social Security benefits reduced or eliminated entirely.
The bill has garnered bipartisan support, as lawmakers from both sides of the aisle recognize the fairness of eliminating these provisions, which many see as an unjust penalty against those who have dedicated their careers to public service. H.R. 82, if passed, would provide much-needed relief to millions of retirees, many of who are struggling with the financial impacts of these provisions.
Conclusion:
The introduction of H.R. 82, the Social Security Fairness Act of 2023, marks a crucial point in the ongoing debate over Social Security benefits for public sector workers. By eliminating the Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset, the bill would restore fairness and equity for millions of public employees who have spent their careers in service to their communities. As this bill progresses, it will likely remain a significant issue in discussions surrounding Social Security reform and the treatment of public sector employees.
President Joe Biden signed H.R. 82, the Social Security Fairness Act, into law on Sunday, January 5, 2025, at 3:00 p.m. Central Time Zone.
The Social Security Fairness Act of 2023: More Retirement Income for Teachers, Police, Firefighters & Gov. Workers
January 1, 2025 · Blog, Guest Article of the Month
⏱ 3 min read
The Social Security Fairness Act of 2023, formally known as H.R. 82, aimed at ending two provisions in the Social Security system that affect public sector employees who have earned pensions from jobs not covered by Social Security. These provisions are the Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset, both of which reduce or eliminate Social Security benefits for workers who have worked in both public-sector and private-sector jobs.
The Problem: WEP and GPO
The Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset were originally designed to prevent public sector workers from receiving larger Social Security benefits than they would have been entitled to had they worked in jobs covered by Social Security for their entire careers. However, critics argue that these provisions disproportionately harm workers who have spent a significant portion of their careers in public service, such as teachers, police officers, firefighters, and other state and local government employees.
Windfall Elimination Provision (WEP):
The WEP reduces the Social Security benefits of individuals who have worked in both the private sector (where they paid into Social Security) and the public sector (where they often did not contribute to Social Security). Typically, Social Security benefits are based on an individual’s 35 highest-earning years. The WEP alters the formula used to calculate benefits for individuals with fewer than 30 years of substantial earnings in Social Security-covered employment, leading to a lower Social Security benefit than they would otherwise be entitled to. For many, this results in a significant reduction in the monthly payment they would have received under the standard Social Security formula.
Government Pension Offset (GPO):
The GPO affects spouses and widows/widowers of Social Security beneficiaries. Under this provision, individuals who receive a government pension from work that was not covered by Social Security (such as state or local government employees) see a reduction in their spousal or survivor benefits from Social Security. The offset is calculated by reducing the spousal or survivor benefit by an amount equal to two-thirds of the government pension. This can leave many public employees with little to no spousal or survivor benefits despite their spouse having paid into Social Security.
What H.R. 82 Seeks to Accomplish
By eliminating both the WEP and GPO, the bill aims to ensure that public sector workers who have earned Social Security benefits through their work in the private sector are not penalized by reductions in those benefits. It also seeks to provide fairer treatment for the spouses and survivors of government employees who may otherwise see their Social Security benefits reduced or eliminated entirely.
The bill has garnered bipartisan support, as lawmakers from both sides of the aisle recognize the fairness of eliminating these provisions, which many see as an unjust penalty against those who have dedicated their careers to public service. H.R. 82, if passed, would provide much-needed relief to millions of retirees, many of who are struggling with the financial impacts of these provisions.
Conclusion:
The introduction of H.R. 82, the Social Security Fairness Act of 2023, marks a crucial point in the ongoing debate over Social Security benefits for public sector workers. By eliminating the Windfall Elimination Provision and the Government Pension Offset, the bill would restore fairness and equity for millions of public employees who have spent their careers in service to their communities. As this bill progresses, it will likely remain a significant issue in discussions surrounding Social Security reform and the treatment of public sector employees.
President Joe Biden signed H.R. 82, the Social Security Fairness Act, into law on Sunday, January 5, 2025, at 3:00 p.m. Central Time Zone.
Disclaimer
These articles are intended to provide general resources for the tax and accounting needs of small businesses and individuals. Service2Client LLC is the author, but is not engaged in rendering specific legal, accounting, financial or professional advice. Service2Client LLC makes no representation that the recommendations of Service2Client LLC will achieve any result. The NSAD has not reviewed any of the Service2Client LLC content. Readers are encouraged to contact a professional regarding the topics in these articles. The images linked to these articles are protected by copyright and should not be copied for any reason.
Personal Income Tax Planning Strategies for Year-End 2024
As 2024 draws to a close, it’s the perfect time to review your personal income tax situation and implement strategies to minimize your tax liability for the year. Proactive year-end tax planning can lead to significant savings, as well as ensure that you take full advantage of tax credits, deductions and other opportunities available to you.
1. Maximize Contributions to Retirement Accounts
One of the most effective ways to reduce your taxable income is by contributing to tax-advantaged retirement accounts. In 2024, you may contribute up to $23,000 to a 401(k) or similar employer-sponsored plan, with an additional $7,500 catch-up contribution if you’re over age 50. These contributions are made pre-tax, meaning they reduce your taxable income for the year, potentially lowering your tax bill.
Similarly, if you’re eligible, consider contributing to an IRA. For 2024, the maximum contribution limit for a traditional IRA and/or Roth IRA is $7,000 ($8,000 if you’re 50 or older). Contributions to a traditional IRA may be tax-deductible depending on your income and whether you or your spouse are covered by an employer-sponsored retirement plan. If you’re not eligible for deductions due to income limits, consider a Roth IRA, where contributions are made after-tax, but qualified withdrawals in retirement are tax-free.
2. Take Advantage of Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs) and Health Savings Accounts (HSAs)
If your employer offers a Flexible Spending Account (FSA), use the remainder of your FSA funds before they expire. FSAs allow you to put away pre-tax money to cover medical expenses, and the limit for 2024 is $3,200. Depending on your employer’s plan, unused funds may be forfeited after the year-end, although some plans may offer a grace period or carryover option for a small portion of the balance.
For those eligible for a Health Savings Account (HSA), contributing the maximum allowable amount can provide immediate tax savings. For 2024, the HSA contribution limit is $4,150 for individuals and $8,300 for families, with an additional $1,000 catch-up contribution for individuals age 55 or older.
3. Harvest Capital Losses
If you’ve realized capital gains in 2024, it may be beneficial to offset those gains with capital losses. Known as tax-loss harvesting, this strategy involves selling investments that have declined in value to realize losses, which can be used to offset your capital gains. If your capital losses exceed your gains, you can use the remaining losses to offset up to $3,000 of ordinary income ($1,500 if married and filing separately).
Make sure to consider the “wash sale” rule, which disallows a deduction if you buy the same or substantially identical security within 30 days of selling at a loss. This rule is meant to prevent taxpayers from selling assets for tax benefits and then repurchasing the same assets immediately.
4. Bunch Charitable Contributions
If you’re planning to make charitable donations, consider bunching your contributions into one year to exceed the standard deduction threshold. This strategy allows you to itemize deductions for one year by making larger charitable contributions in a single year while taking the standard deduction in the following year. The standard deduction for 2024 is $29,200 for married couples filing jointly and $14,600 for single filers, which means if your itemized deductions do not exceed these amounts, you may benefit from grouping two or more years’ worth of charitable donations into one year.
5. Review Your Tax Withholding
As the year ends, review your tax withholding to ensure you’re not over- or under-paying throughout the year. If you’ve had a major life change in 2024, such as marriage, divorce, a child or a new job, adjusting your withholding can prevent underpayment penalties or a large tax bill. You can use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator tool to assess whether your withholding is on track or, if necessary, submit a new Form W-4 to adjust your withholding for the final paychecks of the year.
6. Plan for Estimated Taxes if Self-Employed
For self-employed individuals, it’s important to ensure you’ve made sufficient estimated tax payments throughout the year. If you expect to owe additional taxes for 2024, you may want to increase your final estimated payment by Jan. 15, 2025, to avoid penalties. You can calculate your estimated tax liability using Form 1040-ES.
Conclusion
Tax planning is an essential part of personal finance. With 2024 coming to an end, it’s the right time to review your finances and take advantage of available tax-saving opportunities. By maximizing retirement account contributions, considering tax-loss harvesting and utilizing other year-end strategies, you can minimize your tax burden and keep more of your hard-earned income. Be sure to consult with a tax professional to tailor these strategies to your unique financial situation and ensure you’re in the best possible position for the year ahead.
Tax Planning 2024
December 1, 2024 · Blog, Tax and Financial News
⏱ 4 min read
Personal Income Tax Planning Strategies for Year-End 2024
As 2024 draws to a close, it’s the perfect time to review your personal income tax situation and implement strategies to minimize your tax liability for the year. Proactive year-end tax planning can lead to significant savings, as well as ensure that you take full advantage of tax credits, deductions and other opportunities available to you.
1. Maximize Contributions to Retirement Accounts
One of the most effective ways to reduce your taxable income is by contributing to tax-advantaged retirement accounts. In 2024, you may contribute up to $23,000 to a 401(k) or similar employer-sponsored plan, with an additional $7,500 catch-up contribution if you’re over age 50. These contributions are made pre-tax, meaning they reduce your taxable income for the year, potentially lowering your tax bill.
Similarly, if you’re eligible, consider contributing to an IRA. For 2024, the maximum contribution limit for a traditional IRA and/or Roth IRA is $7,000 ($8,000 if you’re 50 or older). Contributions to a traditional IRA may be tax-deductible depending on your income and whether you or your spouse are covered by an employer-sponsored retirement plan. If you’re not eligible for deductions due to income limits, consider a Roth IRA, where contributions are made after-tax, but qualified withdrawals in retirement are tax-free.
2. Take Advantage of Flexible Spending Accounts (FSAs) and Health Savings Accounts (HSAs)
If your employer offers a Flexible Spending Account (FSA), use the remainder of your FSA funds before they expire. FSAs allow you to put away pre-tax money to cover medical expenses, and the limit for 2024 is $3,200. Depending on your employer’s plan, unused funds may be forfeited after the year-end, although some plans may offer a grace period or carryover option for a small portion of the balance.
For those eligible for a Health Savings Account (HSA), contributing the maximum allowable amount can provide immediate tax savings. For 2024, the HSA contribution limit is $4,150 for individuals and $8,300 for families, with an additional $1,000 catch-up contribution for individuals age 55 or older.
3. Harvest Capital Losses
If you’ve realized capital gains in 2024, it may be beneficial to offset those gains with capital losses. Known as tax-loss harvesting, this strategy involves selling investments that have declined in value to realize losses, which can be used to offset your capital gains. If your capital losses exceed your gains, you can use the remaining losses to offset up to $3,000 of ordinary income ($1,500 if married and filing separately).
Make sure to consider the “wash sale” rule, which disallows a deduction if you buy the same or substantially identical security within 30 days of selling at a loss. This rule is meant to prevent taxpayers from selling assets for tax benefits and then repurchasing the same assets immediately.
4. Bunch Charitable Contributions
If you’re planning to make charitable donations, consider bunching your contributions into one year to exceed the standard deduction threshold. This strategy allows you to itemize deductions for one year by making larger charitable contributions in a single year while taking the standard deduction in the following year. The standard deduction for 2024 is $29,200 for married couples filing jointly and $14,600 for single filers, which means if your itemized deductions do not exceed these amounts, you may benefit from grouping two or more years’ worth of charitable donations into one year.
5. Review Your Tax Withholding
As the year ends, review your tax withholding to ensure you’re not over- or under-paying throughout the year. If you’ve had a major life change in 2024, such as marriage, divorce, a child or a new job, adjusting your withholding can prevent underpayment penalties or a large tax bill. You can use the IRS Tax Withholding Estimator tool to assess whether your withholding is on track or, if necessary, submit a new Form W-4 to adjust your withholding for the final paychecks of the year.
6. Plan for Estimated Taxes if Self-Employed
For self-employed individuals, it’s important to ensure you’ve made sufficient estimated tax payments throughout the year. If you expect to owe additional taxes for 2024, you may want to increase your final estimated payment by Jan. 15, 2025, to avoid penalties. You can calculate your estimated tax liability using Form 1040-ES.
Conclusion
Tax planning is an essential part of personal finance. With 2024 coming to an end, it’s the right time to review your finances and take advantage of available tax-saving opportunities. By maximizing retirement account contributions, considering tax-loss harvesting and utilizing other year-end strategies, you can minimize your tax burden and keep more of your hard-earned income. Be sure to consult with a tax professional to tailor these strategies to your unique financial situation and ensure you’re in the best possible position for the year ahead.
Disclaimer
These articles are intended to provide general resources for the tax and accounting needs of small businesses and individuals. Service2Client LLC is the author, but is not engaged in rendering specific legal, accounting, financial or professional advice. Service2Client LLC makes no representation that the recommendations of Service2Client LLC will achieve any result. The NSAD has not reviewed any of the Service2Client LLC content. Readers are encouraged to contact a professional regarding the topics in these articles. The images linked to these articles are protected by copyright and should not be copied for any reason.